IPL 2023 Orange Cap: Most Runs in IPL

Sports Impulses

Updated on:

IPL 2023 Orange Cap

The IPL 2023 Orange Cap is one of the most prestigious individual awards in the Indian Premier League. It is given to the batter who scores the highest number of runs in a single season. In Test cricket, a green cap is traditionally given to a debutant. This tradition served as the model for the cap system. Apart from being a prestigious award, it also serves as a measure of consistency and performance for batters. This provides a platform for players to showcase their talent and contribute to the success of their respective teams.

The Orange Cap, which was first offered in April 2008, one week after the first IPL season began, has grown in popularity among batters. The player receives the cap at the conclusion of each game and wears it until someone else surpasses his total runs scored. Some of the top batters in the world, including Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli, David Warner, and AB de Villiers, have won the Orange Cap. The Orange Cap award has been won three times by David Warner, with Gayle right behind him. 

Shaun Marsh was the first player to accept the Orange Cap at the conclusion of a season, and Brendon McCullum was the first player to wear the Orange Cap while playing. Virat Kohli scored an incredible 973 runs in 16 matches in 2016, smashing the IPL record for the most runs scored in a single season. Jos Buttler of the Rajasthan Royals, who collected 863 runs the previous season, was the closest to that total. 

The Orange Cap has become a symbol of excellence for batters in the tournament, adding a new dimension to the league and making it even more exciting for fans and players alike.

IPL 2023 Orange Cap

IPL 2023 Orange Cap
IPL 2023 Orange Cap
1Shubman GillGT890171759.33157.808533
2Faf du PlessisRCB730141456.15153.686036
3Devon ConwayCSK672161551.69139.707718
4Virat KohliRCB639141453.25139.826516
5Yashasvi JaiswalRR625141448.07163.618226
6Suryakumar YadavMI605161643.21181.136528
7Ruturaj GaikwadCSK590161542.14147.504630
8David WarnerDC516141436.85131.636910
9Rinku SinghKKR474141459.25149.523129
10Ishan KishanMI454161530.26142.765418
11Cameron GreenMI452161650.22160.284022
12Heinrich KlaasenSRH448121149.77177.073225
13Shivam DubeCSK418161438.00158.331235
14Nitish RanaKKR413141431.76140.953920
15Marcus StoinisLSG408151531.38150.002827
16Venkatesh IyerKKR404141428.85145.843221
17Glenn MaxwellRCB400141433.33183.482931
18Jos ButtlerRR392141428.00139.004214
19Kyle MayersLSG379131329.15144.103822
20Shikhar DhawanPBKS373111141.44142.914912
21Wriddhiman SahaGT371171723.18129.26478
22Sanju SamsonRR362141430.16153.392524
23Sai SudharsanGT3628851.71141.403312
24Nicholas PooranLSG358151529.83172.942626
25Prabhsimran SinghPBKS358141425.57150.423819
26Hardik PandyaGT346161531.45136.752615
27Tilak VarmaMI343111142.87164.112623
28Rohit SharmaMI332161620.75132.803517
29Ajinkya RahaneCSK326141132.60172.482416
30Jitesh SharmaPBKS309141423.76156.062221
31Vijay ShankarGT301141037.62160.102715
32Shimron HetmyerRR299141337.37151.771223
33Jason RoyKKR2858835.62151.593612
34Axar PatelDC283141328.30139.402115
35Liam LivingstonePBKS2799934.87163.152019
36Sam CurranPBKS276141327.60135.962013
37KL RahulLSG2749934.25113.22284
38Rahul TripathiSRH273131322.75128.162910
39Mayank AgarwalSRH270101027.00128.57296
40Devdutt PadikkalRR261111126.10130.50316
41David MillerGT259161332.37145.501813
42Aiden MarkramSRH248131322.54125.88188
43Nehal WadheraMI241141026.77145.182312
44Ayush BadoniLSG238151223.80138.371312
45Tim DavidMI231161525.66158.211215
46Andre RussellKKR227141420.63145.511318
47Rahmanullah GurbazKKR227111120.63133.521715
48Abhishek SharmaSRH226111120.54143.94286
49Philip SaltDC2189927.25163.912410
50Rilee RossouwDC2099929.85148.221711

Check out which team’s bowler is taking the most wickets in the IPL 2023, read our most recent IPL 2023 Purple Cap report.

IPL 2023 Orange Cap Rules

The Orange Cap will be awarded to the player who has scored the most runs at the end of IPL 2023, including playoff games.

Players who are leading the run-scoring list as the season progresses are permitted to wear the Orange Cap on the field. 

The hitter with the best strike rate will win the orange cap if more than one batter has the same number of runs at the end of the season. The Super Over runs won’t be taken into account for the Orange Cap race.

IPL Orange Cap Winners List 2008 – 2023

YearPlayerTeamMatchesRunsHight ScoreAvgSr50s100s
2023Shubman GillGujarat1789012959.33157.8043
2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan1786311657.53149.0544
2021Ruturaj GaikwadChennai1663510145.35136.2641
2020KL RahulPunjab1467013255.83129.3451
2019David WarnerHyderabad1269210069.2143.8781
2018Kane WilliamsonHyderabad177358452.5142.4480
2017David WarnerHyderabad1464112658.27141.8141
2016Virat KohliBangalore1697311381.08152.0374
2015David WarnerHyderabad145629143.23156.5470
2014Robin UthappaKolkata166608344137.7850
2013Michael HusseyChennai167339552.35129.560
2012Chris GayleBangalore1573312861.08160.7471
2011Chris GayleBangalore1260810767.55183.1332
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai156188947.53132.6150
2009Matthew Hayden Chennai125728952144.8150
2008Shaun MarshPunjab1161611568.44139.6851

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

How is Orange Cap decided in IPL?

The Orange Cap was carried by the player who scored the most runs during the season while playing defense, with the Orange Cap trophy being awarded on the day of the season finale to the player who scored the most runs overall during the duration of the tournament.

In the IPL 2023, who is the Sixer King?

Faf du Plessis, the captain of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), finished the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 as the batter with the most sixes.

Who is the top IPL batsman?

In the history of the IPL, Virat Kohli has scored the most runs. In the history of the IPL, Yuzvendra Chahal has taken the most wickets. The IPL record holder for most runs scored and most hundreds (seven) made is the Indian batsman and former captain Virat Kohli.

1 thought on “IPL 2023 Orange Cap: Most Runs in IPL”

Leave a Comment