ICC World Cup Points Table 2023: Updated

Sports Impulses

Updated on:

ICC World Cup Points Table 2023

ICC World Cup Points Table 2023: Here is the most recent team standings and points table update for the ongoing 50-over cricket World Cup in India.

NoTeamPointsPlayedWonLostNo ResultNet Run rate
2South Africa149720+1.261
4New Zealand109540+0.743
9Sri Lanka49270-1.419
Points Table 2023

ICC World Cup Points Table 2023
ICC World Cup Points Table 2023

ICC World Cup Points Table 2023

India hosts the ICC Cricket World Cup beginning on October 5. The opening match, which will be another replay of the 2019 final, will see defending champions England taking against New Zealand. The co-hosting nations of the previous three World Cups have all triumphed: India in 2011, Australia and New Zealand in 2015, and England in 2019. The opener, the championship game between India and Pakistan on October 15, and the final will all take place at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium on November 19. 

All 10 countries will play one another in a round-robin format at the ICC World Cup 2023, which will have the same rules as the edition from four years ago. This edition will be the last to use this format because the ICC plans to introduce a new one for the centerpiece event in 2027. The top four teams from the current round-robin format’s 10 teams will advance to the semi-finals after playing every other team once. The round-robin winner will take on the fourth-place team, and the second and third-place teams will face off in the other semifinal. 

The semifinalists’ winners will participate in the final on November 20. The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, a three-year competition in which 13 teams played eight three-match bilateral series apiece, determined the next seven teams after India qualified as hosts based on final standings. New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa, the top eight teams in the competition, all proceeded to the Cricket World Cup, while League 2 and the Qualifier Play-off tournament’s bottom five teams moved to the Cricket World Cup Qualifier. Sri Lanka and the Netherlands were the only two nations to qualify for the Cricket World Cup 2023 through the Qualifier, after finishing 10th and 13th in the Super League, respectively.

FAQs (Frequently Asked Questions)

In the 2023 World Cup, how many matches will each team play?

Each team will play nine matches in a round-robin phase of the competition, meeting each of the other nine teams once. There will be 45 matches in all during this phase. The top four teams from the round of matches advance to the semi-finals.

How many nations will compete in the ICC World Cup in 2023?

India is hosting the event, which got underway on October 5 and is slated to end on November 19, 2023. Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka are the ten competing national teams.

To qualify for the 2023 World Cup, how many matches must India win?

So, in order for a side to qualify, they will probably need to win at least six matches, with seven victories guaranteeing them a spot. India will therefore aim to win six more matches.

How many cricket World Cups has India won?

India’s cricket team has won two world championships. India became the first nation to win the Cricket World Cup on home soil in 2011, in addition to winning the tournament in 1983. In addition, they finished second in the 2003 Cricket World Cup and reached the semifinals four times (1987, 1996, 2015, and 2019).

Leave a Comment